Posts Tagged ‘Databases’

Changes to the Healthcare Databases Advanced Search

May 8, 2012

NHS Evidence (National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence) will be implementing changes to the Healthcare databases. These changes are based on user feedback and the updated databases will go live on the 30th of May.  The library can provide one-to-one training sessions to help readers make more effective searches.  You can book a training session from website

Advertisements

Free trial to BMJ Clinical Evidence until 30th September

September 28, 2011

Clinical Evidence is the international source of the best available evidence on the effects of common clinical interventions. Its systematic reviews summarise the current state of knowledge and uncertainty about the prevention and treatment of clinical conditions, based on thorough searches and appraisal of the literature. It is neither a textbook of medicine nor a set of guidelines. It describes the best available evidence from systematic reviews, RCTs, and observational studies where appropriate, and if there is no good evidence it says so. This trial is available until the 30th September.

CLICK HERE to access Clinical Evidence. A UHSM NHS Athens account is required.

Free trial to DynaMed until 29th November

September 28, 2011

 There is a three month trial of DynaMed currently available until the 29th of November. DynaMed is a clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians and other health care professionals for use at the point-of-care. With clinically-organized summaries for thousands of topics, DynaMed balances the latest content and resources with validity, relevance and convenience, making DynaMed an indispensable resource for answering most clinical questions during practice. Updated daily, DynaMed monitors the content of over 500 medical journals on a daily basis through Systematic Literature Surveillance, and is the only resource that applies the 7-step systematic evidence-based process to all of its content, assuring that the science backing the recommendations is sound.

CLICK HERE  to access DynaMed. A UHSM NHS Athens account is required.

Web of Knowledge and EndNote access

May 24, 2011

We are pleased to announce that the Web of knowledge database is now accessible via Athens until December 2011.  The Web of Knowledge is a premier research platform for information in sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.  It provides a single point of access and cross database searching capability for the Web of Science and a range of other databases including:
Science Citation Index – expanded – 1900 to date
Journal Citation Reports (JCR)
Social Sciences Citation Index – 1956 to date
BIOSIS Previews 1969 to date
Medline – 1950 to date
Conference Proceedings Citation Index – Science (CPCI-S) – 1990 to date
Arts & Humanities Citation Index – 1975 to date

In addition to this, you can also access EndNote Web

You can access the Web of Knowledge from any computer at http://wok.mimas.ac.uk/


%d bloggers like this: